Blog Tour: ‘Secrets in the Snow’ by Michaela MacColl Review & Giveaway

secrets-in-the-snow

I received this book for free from Rain Coast Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

secrets-in-the-snow-1

Secrets in the Snow by Michaela MacColl

Due to my very busy schedule this past week, I sadly wasn’t able to get my post up on my correct day. I am so sorry about this, but alas here we are! And here is my review, I do hope you enjoy it. 

Review

Title: Secrets in the Snow

Author: Michaela MacColl

Song: 2015 Top Hits Mega Mashup (piano cover) From: YouTube

Published: October 4th, 2016       # of Pages: 288

Date Started: October 2nd, 2016   Date Ended: October 2nd, 2016

Category: Fiction, Mystery, Romance

Rating: ♥♥♥♥

Description:

“Jane Austen’s family is eager to secure her future by marrying her off. But Jane is much more interested in writing her novels, and finds every suitor lacking—until the mysterious Mr. Lefroy arrives. Could he be the one? Before Jane can find out, she must solve a murder, clear her family’s name, and face a decision that might cost her true love.”

Review:

This book was a fun, romantic, mystifying novel. Short but full of mystery and a blooming love. Sure, it was shorter than I expected but it was still a wonderful story none the less.

The plot was unique but towards the middle it did get a little muddled with where it was trying to go. But the author was quickly able to get back on track, this was the only thing that made me go with four stars instead of five. The opening was good; it gave us the information we needed to understand how the plot was going to unfold. Along with giving us a little back story on our Female Lead, Jane Austen and her family. The rising action was where we started to get more intense. How the ideas started to finally show with what was going to happen. Yet it wasn’t until the Climax where it really got juicy and filled with gore and detail. From the Climax all the way to the falling action, the story kept getting more crazy by the minuet! And I couldn’t, no WOULDN’T put it down. The thrill with what was going on was too intense, and all of the intensity blew up into a crazy sobbing feels filled me. Especially with what happened to my OTP at the end. WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS TO ME MICHAELA MACCOLL?! WHY?! *sobs in corner holding characters in blankets* If anything I’d say from the Climax on was the best part of the entire story. Even though I wasn’t a huge fan of the ended, {for feels reasons} I still loved the story and the idea behind it none the less. I particularly enjoyed the information blurb at the end of the story. It was a genius touch really.

Now the characters on the other hand were very cleverly written. First we had our female lead, the ever so famous Jane Austen. In this novel she is very curious, brave, and quite literally, badass. She does not deal with her brothers bullsh*t, not one bit, and I adore her for that. She is a sleuth and will do whatever it takes to solve this murder. A murder that’s to close to home for comfort. Our Male Lead Mr. Tom Lefroy on the other hand is a completely different story. He is obnoxious, annoying {at times}, handsome, tribally charming, and genuinely a good guy {until he fs up}. He was helpful and willing to help Jane solve the murder, actually more than willing. He was like her lap dog in a way, just by how he acted a certain time. But before that time he was a total cold hearted jerk face. Yet I found him hot none the less so I forgive him. Besides these two main characters we also had our supporting characters. Eliza, Janes cousin who lived in France. Henry, James, and Edward, Janes Brothers. And finally, Jean, Jacques, and Marie. Eliza’s servants and someone who was very special to her. {Must read the book to find out who is who} Without these characters I believe the novel would have been a bit boring. But these characters really added the intensity it needed to flourish. I loved them all.

Overall,

I found this book quite a fun mysterious story. I loved the twist in this novel. Especially since it had a famous character in it. It was quite refreshing, even though certain parts could have had a little bit more focused, I still had a fun time with this story. And I highly recommend it to all Jane Austen fans. {Even if you haven’t read all of her work}

Congratulations Michaela MacColl on a fun Jane Austen inspired story! I look forward to reading more of your work in the future.

Giveaway

I am giving away a copy of this wonderful novel on my Instagram! Follow the link and see what you have to do to have a chance of winning this gorgeous novel. Open to Canada residents only {sorry my international readers} and will end at 12pm October 10th 2016. 

Quotes

The library was by far Jane’s favourite room in the house. (page 11)

To be fond of dancing was a certain step towards falling in love. PRIDE AND PREJUDICE

I have worn mourning for a year! And you know how I hate how black dulls my complexion. (page 113)

You can’t abandon me! You are killing me!

You forget, you are already dead, my dear. (page 151)

The law is a harsh mistress, then, one whom I don’t particularly care for. (page 156)

Leave a Reply

