Blog Tour: ‘How It Ends’ By Catherine Lo Review and Q&A

thumbnail_image2

I received this book for free from Rain Coast Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. 

thumbnail_image1

Review

Title: How It Ends

Author: Catherine Lo

Song(s):  This is What You Came For (Feat. Rihanna) by Calvin Harris & Treat You Better by Shawn Mendes

Published: June 7, 2016       # of Pages: 304

Date Started: June 17, 2016   Date Ended: June 18, 2016

Category: Fiction, Contemporary, Friendship  

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Description:

“There are two sides to every story.

It’s friends-at-first-sight for Jessie and Annie, proving the old adage that opposites attract. Shy, anxious Jessie would give anything to have Annie’s beauty and confidence. And Annie thinks Jessie has the perfect life, with her close-knit family and killer grades. They’re BFFs…until suddenly they’re not. 

Told through alternating points of view, How It Ends is a wildly fast but deeply moving read about a friendship in crisis. Set against a tumultuous sophomore year of bullying, boys and backstabbing, the novel shows what can happen when friends choose assumptions and fear over each other.”

Review:

The plot was absolutely WONDERFUL! I loved the idea of a double point of view. I hardly see any good double points anymore, especially in contemporary. And that GOOD. I just couldn’t put it down. {which is why I finished it in less than 5 hours} The opening was so good and I liked how we got introduced to our two main characters. When it got to the rising action, oh damn was it good. It was intense and so dramatic! I especially loved how their friend ship grew in this period. But once we got to the Climax? That’s when all HELL broke loose, High School Style. Oh the plot twists and drama in this part of the book was fricken AMAZING. Soooooo good. {I was mad at the one thing that happened, Carherine you know what it is. *cough cough* douchebag guy, and Doctor *cough cough*} that scene made me so mad and I just UGH I couldn’t handle it. When it got to the Falling  Action, let me tell you I was a FEELS FILLED MESS. It was bad. I ended up flipping out at 2 am. It went great with the plot twist of the climax and I just couldn’t deal with certain characters. But when we rounded the turn at the end to our Conclusion? It was beautiful. And I LOVED the revenge toying part. {good choice at the end Catherine} it was funny and witty, I honestly read it like 10 times because I really enjoyed it. Plus, the ending was Gorgeous and I loved how it tied everything together. And now, if I ever need to explain something, I know I must write a story. (Thanks Jess).

The Characters where just FANTASTIC! They where sassy and sarcastic and funny. But most of all I LOVED them. Their character development was written how do I say it, ON POINT. {Yes I did just use that phrase} First our two Female Leads, Jessica Lynn Avery and Annie Miller. Complete opposites of each other yet they fit together wonderfully. Jessica was the nerd and loner of the school who was picked on most her life. Then Annie came, the new cool girl to the school. She chose Jess to be her friend since she saw something special about her. They each are brave and believe in friendship. A Perfect Match. Then we had our Villain or “BULLY” of the story. Courtney Williams. Courtney was always the “IT” girl, most popular, pretty, had the hottest boyfriend. She was cunning, evil and plain out rude. I was not a fan of her as a person. Not one bit. But as a character in the story? Oh she added drama and I LOVE/HATED it. Besides the fact that I didn’t really like her as a person, I think she fit the role of Bully quite nicely. Now besides those three we also had our supporting characters. Such as, Charlie, Jody, and Kevin who are Jessica’s friends. Madge(Madaline) Annie’s Step mom, and Sophie, Annie’s Step Sister. And finally Scott, a boy both Annie and Jess liked {no spoilers from me!}. All of these characters where written just amazingly and the book wouldn’t have been the way it was without them. 

Overall,
This book was by far one of the best Contemporary books I’ve read about Bullying and overcoming Anxiety in a LONG time. It was truly breathtaking and I believe a lot of people should read this book. Intense, Dramatic, Spectacular, and Life Changing are the words that pop into my head when I think about this book. It’s one of those stories that draws you in. So much that you just HAVE to read it over, and over, and over again. I know I’ll most likely be doing this. {Forget the LONGGGGG TBR pile and just DO IT} So I HIGHLY recommend you pick it up, and read it.

Congratulations Catherine Lo on an absolutely STUNNING novel about friendship and love. 

thumbnail_image3

Catherine Lo

Q&A With Catherine Lo

In your novel we see a lot about friendship and pushing your comfort zone and boundaries. Was there ever a time in your life where your friend(s) pushed you out of your comfort zone? If so, what did you do and how did it change your life?

That’s the beautiful thing about friends: they constantly challenge you to move out of your comfort zone. In high school, my best friend Lynn was much more social than I was. I tended to withdraw and stick to things that were familiar to me, whereas she was more adventurous socially. I remember one time in particular, on a week-long field trip to Washington, DC, Lynn declared that we were going to meet new people instead of spending every minute together. The trip brought together students from across the U.S. and Canada, so she decided we should broaden our horizons and meet people from all over. She challenged me to sit with a new person each day on the bus. For the incredibly shy teenaged me, this sounded like torture, and I remember feeling hurt and betrayed that she seemed to want to get away from me on the trip. Once I started meeting new people, though, I found connections and learned so much more than I would have otherwise. Without Lynn to push me out of my comfort zone, I would never have made those connections.

Quotes

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubt, while the stupid ones are full of confidence. (Page 22)

This is some painfully awkward shit,

Shut up, Kev. This is Romantic. (Page 244)

Being brave doesn’t mean nothing bad happens to you. Bad things happen no matter what. Being brave is how you handle those things. How you keep going and trying to be yourself. (Page 278-280)

“You know what they say,” I deadpanned. “Bitches get stuff done.” (Page 280)

It was so strange, the way the story came together, It’s like… once I stopped trying to force things to happen the way I thought they should, everything sort of fell into place.

I like that, I can’t wait to see how it ends… (Page 289)

Leave a Reply

