The Siren Review

The Siren

The Siren by Kiera Cass

Title: The Siren

Author: Keira Cass

Song: The Siren

Published: January 26, 2016          # of Pages: 327

Date Started: April 2, 2016             Date Ended: May 5, 2016

Category: Fiction, Fantasy, Mythology, Romance

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Description:

Love is a risk worth taking.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again. 

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. And though she can’t talk to him, they soon forge a connection neither of them can deny…and Kahlen doesn’t want to.

Falling in love with a human breaks all the Ocean’s rules, and if the Ocean discovers Kahlen’s feelings, she’ll be forced to leave Akinli for good. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.”

Review:

First off in my defence I had a VERY busy April. But alas I have FINALLY finished this breathtaking book! I couldn’t put it down. It was so good and just ugh. I need a sequel to it in my life. Even if it was a stand alone. It was beautiful. And to think it was this amazing authors FIRST book! Just wow.

The plot was fantastic! I mean Sirens and their mythology are just so cool in general. So when you add the Ocean being their master in a way and some romance, you know it’s gonna be good. The opening was just wow. It gave us a backstory to our wonderful main character, and a little bit of history to. This only joined into the rising action to add drama and secrets into the novel. But once we reached that Climax? Dear god someone ought to have gotten me to a doctor. Because that was on fire and gave me a heart attack. It was THAT good people. The falling action was just as intense and mind blowing as the climax. THAT PLOT TWIST TOWARDS THE END I SWEAR ENDED ME. IT WAS JUST SO FRICKEN GOOD. And then that conclusion. Guys. I was in tears at that ending. It was just so beautifully concluded and I felt that the story ended well. If anything I wish that there was a sequel so I could read about these amazing characters more. The plot twists where the end of me but I loved all of them. To the bottom of the ocean to the mint chocolate chip ice cream in main. {read the book to find out what this means}

The characters where absolutely wonderful. Just breathtaking and their developments where wow. They grew amazingly as people and characters. And I felt as if they where real. And I could feel their pain, sorrow, love, and anger. That’s how good it was. First we have our Female Lead, Miss Kahlen. Just a normal girl until a life changing event happened, causing her to join her sisters of the waves. She is intelligent, calm, and a very kind/wandering soul. Beautiful and yet, she does not feel whole. Until she meets our Male Lead, Mr Akinli. A boy with a wandering soul, who just so happened to meet Kahlen. Charming, charismatic, kind, and a joker, Akinli was quite the character to read about. I enjoyed reading about him and Kahlen. Now in these two lovers path not a villain, but a mother who cared for her child even though she was on her child to care for. The Ocean. She was a intense figure in the novel and I HIGHLY enjoyed it when she was in a particular scene and figured out, oh hey I don’t need to be like this anymore. Besides these three characters we had our four amazing Supporting Characters. The Siren Sisters if you will. Aisling, the eldest of the bunch. 
Miaka, the artist of the group. Elizabeth, the rebel child of them all. And finally, Padma, the lost hurt soul of them. Along with Ben and Julie. All of these wonderful characters helped add to the wonderful story line that was, ‘The Siren’. Not only with their personalities but also the love and emotions they brought out within each other and the readers. It was fantastic to read about them all. And I do hope to someday see them all again.

Overall,
This book was just spectacular. Simply breathtaking and mind blowing. I couldn’t handle my feels as I read it. That’s how good it was guys. I was laughing and crying while being angry and sad all at the same time. I do hope even though it is currently a stand alone novel, that they will create a second one for Kahlen and Akinli so we can see how they are. THEY ARE MY BABIES. MINE. So yes. I highly recommend you all go buy this book. Then we may discuss the book once you finish it. 

Congratulations Kiera Cass on a wonderful story of Mythology and Romance.

One response to “The Siren Review

Leave a Reply

