I’m Thinking of Ending Things Review

Im thinking of ending things

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

Title: I’m Thinking of Ending Things

Author: Iain Reid

Song: Netflix in background  

Published: June 14, 2016               # of Pages: 224

Date Started: April 1, 2016            Date Ended: April 1, 2016

Category: Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Thriller  

Rating: ♥♥♥♥

Description:

I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.

Jake once said, “Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”

And here’s what I’m thinking: I don’t want to be here.

In this deeply suspenseful and irresistibly unnerving debut novel, a man and his girlfriend are on their way to a secluded farm. When the two take an unexpected detour, she is left stranded in a deserted high school, wondering if there is any escape at all. What follows is a twisted unraveling that will haunt you long after the last page is turned. 

In this smart, suspenseful, and intense literary thriller, debut novelist Iain Reid explores the depths of the human psyche, questioning consciousness, free will, the value of relationships, fear, and the limitations of solitude. Reminiscent of Jose Saramago’s early work, Michel Faber’s cult classic Under the Skin, and Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk about KevinI’m Thinking of Ending Things is an edgy, haunting debut. Tense, gripping, and atmospheric, this novel pulls you in from the very first page…and never lets you go.”

Review:

This book was sent to me by Simon and Schuster for review. I was told this book would blow my mind. Bamn. They where completely 100% right. It blew my mind and it scared me. It made me feel as if someone was there. And oh my god I had my friend talk to me the entire time that’s how scared I was. Besides me being scared I did quite enjoy this book. I gave it 4 stars since the ending partially confused me but the story was still good.

The plot was interesting. Playing a big roll on Psychology, it twisted your mind to make you felt as if you weren’t alone. That was scary itself. And the female lead made sure to keep repeating that idea into your mind the entire novel. The introduction was interesting yet insightful to the character and what was going on. The rising action was spin chilling and intense. But it was the Climax that truly gave me goosebumps. {literally, I showed my friend} the falling action was high pace and scary. Nerve racking and frightening. The conclusion was good, but I didn’t quite understand the ending. But none the less I enjoyed the novel greatly. The plot twist at the end was absolutely phenomenal. It really stuck with me honestly. But I ask you, “are you good? Or are you bad?”

The characters where just wow. But the question I have is, what is our Female Leads name? She is unknown. Just simply a ghost in the story. Sure she is the narrator and all in a way since its in her point of view. But at least give the girl a name. It was curious about her personality. So what exactly caused her to do this? To feel that way? Who knows. Then we have our Male lead, Mr Jake. He was a curious character. Shy, charming, quiet, mysterious, yet anger and crazy joined the mix. How odd. It was mind boggling. Since you wouldn’t expect that to happen to him. But it worked making it spooky. The other characters just added to the spookiness and mystery of the book. Which just added to the story and made me freak out more. So damn good.

Overall, this book was scarily marvellous! It blew my mind with how easy it is to scare someone and get into their mind. I am not usually a fan of spooky stuff; {I actually can’t stomach it….} but this book was good. And I absolutely enjoyed its idea. I do hope that if there where a next book, that it gives us more insight on the characters. And just carries on with the first book.

Congratulations Iain Reid on a mind twisting frightful story. Of fear and reason of the brain. 

Leave a Reply

