Blog Tour: ‘True Born’ by L.E. Sterling Review and Q&A

True Born Blog Tour Post Card

I received this book for free from Rain Coast Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. 

True Born photo

Review

Title: True Born

Author: L.E. Sterling

Song: Blackened Soul by Adrian von Ziegler

Published: May 3, 2016       # of Pages: 304

Date Started: May 3, 2016            Date Ended: May 4, 2016

Category: Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Adventure, Romance

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Description:

 Welcome to Dominion City.

After the great Plague descended, the world population was decimated…and their genetics damaged beyond repair.

The Lasters wait hopelessly for their genes to self-destruct. The Splicers pay for expensive treatments that might prolong their life. The plague-resistant True Borns are as mysterious as they are feared…

And then there’s Lucy Fox and her identical twin sister, Margot. After endless tests, no one wants to reveal what they are.

When Margot disappears, a desperate Lucy has no choice but to put her faith in the True Borns, led by the charismatic Nolan Storm and the beautiful but deadly Jared Price. As Lucy and the True Borns set out to rescue her sister, they stumble upon a vast conspiracy stretching from Dominion’s street preachers to shady Russian tycoons. But why target the Fox sisters?

As they say in Dominion, it’s in the blood.

Review:

This book had so many unique concepts with it, and did I mention it uses the Plague as a main idea in the story? That’s amazing! I honestly loved learning about the Black Plague in History class. So I was very much happy about reading this. It brings in a class system, along with an Anarchy setting in a way. But all ruled like the French Revolution with the class system.

The plot was just brilliant. The opening showed us a casual teen and how life was for them in school. Casual, yet mysterious. It was detailed and built up great and the Rising Action just added to this action/drama. The drama really added to this part of the novel, especially with what happens between certain characters. I loved how the author made it seem like two sisters arguing at times. Not just a conversation but with emotion. The Climax was intense. Insane. And mind blowing! I couldn’t put this book down that’s how amazing it was. 100% just wow. The falling action kept the fast pace like the climax and just added more and more to the story. THE PLOT TWIST AT THE END WAS THE END OF ME. MY HEART! THE FEELS. It was just so Fantastic! I couldn’t believe how amazing it was. And that Conclusion? Oh why must it have ended that way? In a cliff hanger? Now I must wait until the next book comes out. *cries in corner* The conclusion was expertly written and I couldn’t have done it any better myself.

The characters where wonderful! Unique and quite fun to read. Their developments where amazing and I liked how they all grew emotionally and physically throughout the novel. Especially our two main characters. The Fox Twins. Lucinda {Lucy} and Margot Fox. They are identical and where conjoined twins by their toes. Both with a birthmark of a lock and key. To keep them safe. While Margot was the wild, free and precious jewel of the family she was the complete opposite of her sister Lucinda. Lucy was the calm collective one of the two. She was her sisters shadow in a way. But boy did this girl grow into a flame that out shown her sister. You go girl! Then we had our male leads Jared Price, a True Born. {you’ll find out what that means when you read the book} he is strong and sly like a cat. (No pun intended) Golden hair and green eyes, with a faint sent of Cinnamon, which might I add is hot as hell. He is a bodyguard in a way, a protector of sorts. And a fantastic character to read. Along with Nolan Storm, oh my deer. (Again no pun intended) He is a sexy beast. And let me tell you, I wish Nolan was real oh my gosh. *heart eyes* he is flawless and badass like Jared and I need more of the both of them. Then our Villain, Father Wes. He is part of a group who you’ll find out about when you read the book. After him, we have all of our supporting characters. Let me tell you, these characters added to the story and made it much more enjoyable. Especially the sass from some of them. Mr and Mrs Fox, Resnikov, Shane, Richardson, along with many others. They where all written so wonderfully that honestly, I now need the next book ASAP. 

Overall, this book was absolutely fantastic. It was thrilling, spontaneous and heroic. I need the next book ASAP. Literally I need it. With me. Right now. I MUST KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TO MY BABIES! OH LUCY! OH MARGOT! OH JARED AND NOLAN! I need them with me.
Congratulations L.E. Sterling on an Epic, Mind Blowing first book of the new and amazing trilogy, True Born.

L.E. Sterling

L.E.Sterling Author

Q&A With L.E. Sterling

Out of all your characters, Margot and Lucinda are your two main girls. If anything Lucy more than Margot. Is there are particular reason as to why you made it in her perspective? So that she was the main theme? If so, why did you do this?

“Hi, Alexis, thanks for the question – and it’s a good one. Here’s my confession: when I sat down to write the story, I heard this low, sort of growly young woman’s voice in my head. She spoke in a peculiar way, said “reckon” a lot, was a bit of a snob (at first), and was obviously a bit traumatized by the world she was living in. This was Lucy Fox, and fact is, she so completely took over my brain for the entire story. I couldn’t write someone else’s perspective if I tried – not even Margot’s.

I think part of my own fascination with twins, too, is that you can’t really “know” them. We readers get an intimate glimpse of Lucy’s thoughts and impressions, but despite Lucy being so close to Margot, despite the fact that Lucy and Margot communicate through their secret twin language throughout the novel, we don’t get too intimate with her. I kind of love that strange conflict and duality!”

 

Quotes

Evolve or Die. (12)

You’re like a little kitty cat. All cuteness and claws. (85)

Wow, do they teach sarcasm in charm school these days? Maybe I should enroll. (113)

Do you think you’d like to go to jail for breaking in, Princess? ‘Cause I hear they don’t hand out tiaras there. (178)

Jared tips his head back and snarls once, a grumpy kitten more than a terrifying panther, before sailing out the balcony door. (242)

I swear, you are the biggest pain in the neck I’ve ever met. (253)

Life and Death. The Plague. (288)

Leave a Reply

