Reign of Shadows Review

Reign of Shadows

Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

Title: Reign of Shadows

Author: Sophie Jordan

Song: 7 Years by Lukas Graham

Published: February 9, 2016              # of Pages: 304

Date Started: March 28, 2016            Date Ended: March 29, 2016

Category: Fiction, Fantasy, Retelling {In a Way}

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Description:

“Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.”

Review:

THIS BOOK WAS FAN FRICKEN TASTIC!!!!!! Honestly 100% this book was just wow. I couldn’t put it down! It was THAT good. I haven’t read any of Sophie Jordan’s work before but now since I’ve read this, I will definitely pick up more of her work. Especially since I fell in love with this book.

The plot was so unique and abstract. Darkness meets High Fantasy. Just wow. The story itself seemed to be almost a retelling of Rapunzel in a way but not. It had some aspects like Rapunzel’s tower and hiding away. A kingdom destroyed by a power crazy man. Like Sleeping Beauty. Plus, add in dark crazy ass creatures into the mix? And you got an epic high pace action filled Fantasy. The opening gave us an idea of what our female lead was like, around the second or third chapter we find out her secret. And that just adds to the whole story and how they survive. It also introduces our hard headed and brave male lead. Who let me tell you, is hot as hell. And just UGH MY FEELS AND HEART. So much love for him. The rising action was intense and interesting. It gave you the feeling as if you where the one being hunted and such. It was so good and just ugh my heart was pounding the entire time. Then we got up to our climax. OH MY GOSH MY HEART JUST CAN’T HANDLE THIS. THE FEELS HURT. It was action filled intense, love filled, and just absolutely fantastic to read. The falling action was fast pace going non stop. Plus, those Plot Twists got me hard multiple times. But THAT CONCLUSION. Oh my god I swear my soul died and went to feels filled OTP heaven. THE PLOT TWIST AT THE END WAS THE LITERAL END OF ME. MY POOR BABIES. *cries in corner holding Luna and Fowler* It was absolutely fantastic to read and there was so much going on! I couldn’t release the book and here I am, up at midnight writing my review. Because I couldn’t put it down. I MUST KNOW WHAT HAPPENS TO MY BABY. SOPHIE JORDAN TELL ME. I MUST KNOW.

The characters where written absolutely fantastic! Their character developments especially where just mind blowing and eye opening. It showed how they all grew out of their comfort zones to become better people, better characters. And I wouldn’t have changed a thing about them. They are my babies and I love them dearly. First we had our Female lead Luna, the girl from the tower. Royal by birth, Hidden by Darkness. She is innocent, hard headed, determined, and brave. But she also shows compassion and love with pain. But is all that love and such worth the pain it’ll come with? {you must read the book to find out} then we had our Male Lead, Fowler. The Hunter, the hunted, and the empty shell of a man. He is brave, fearless, and will do whatever it takes to protect the ones he loves. But the real question is, is it worth being the protector of others if you yourself can’t be protected? I really did enjoy reading Fowlers POV since you know, it’s FOWLER. But besides those two main characters we had our supporting characters. Sivo, an old royal guard of the old King. Luna’s protector, father figure, and guardian. Perla, a water maid, who helped Luna’s mother give birth before saving the child and protecting her, mother figure, and guardian. These two where technically Luna’s parents. But not by blood. They added to Luna’s character greatly and I loved the way they where written. I do hope we see them again in the next book. Besides those two, we also had some other minor characters Madoc and Dagne the two siblings who come unexpectedly; they added their own flare to the story. And I quite enjoyed it. Then there was Mirelya and old lady who you’ll all meet at the end of the novel. She is quite the character might I say. I loved all of these characters and need to read more of them in the future!

Overall, this book was absolutely amazing and I wouldn’t change one thing about it. Except maybe seeing more romance between certain characters. Even then, the characters where wonderful and they matched what the story was going after. I love this story and I know I don’t regret reading this book. I recommend you all go pick up this book and read it so we can Fangirl together over it. Since you know, FOWLUNA IS LIFE.

Congratulations Sophie Jordan on an ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC novel! I can’t wait until the next book comes out!

2 responses to “Reign of Shadows Review

Leave a Reply

