Da Vinvi’s Tiger Review

da vinci's tiger

Da Vinvi’s Tiger by L.M Elliott

Title: Da Vinci’s Tiger

Author: L.M. Elliott

Song: Classical Renaissance

Published: November 10, 2015        # of Pages: 287

Date Started: March 1, 2016            Date Ended: March 4, 2016

Category: Fiction, Historical

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Description:

“For fans of rich and complex historical novels like Girl with a Pearl Earring or Code Name Verity, Laura Malone Elliott delivers the stunning tale of real-life Renaissance woman Ginevra de’ Benci, the inspiration for one of Leonardo da Vinci’s earliest masterpieces.

The young and beautiful daughter of a wealthy family, Ginevra longs to share her poetry and participate in the artistic ferment of Renaissance Florence but is trapped in an arranged marriage in a society dictated by men. The arrival of the charismatic Venetian ambassador, Bernardo Bembo, introduces Ginevra to a dazzling circle of patrons, artists, and philosophers. Bembo chooses Ginevra as his Platonic muse and commissions a portrait of her by a young Leonardo da Vinci. Posing for the brilliant painter inspires an intimate connection between them, one Ginevra only begins to understand. In a rich and vivid world of exquisite art with a dangerous underbelly of deadly political feuds, Ginevra faces many challenges to discover her voice and artistic companionship—and to find love.”

Review:

I received this book in the December Owlcrate box and was so happy to see it!

The book itself is about Leonardo De Vinci and how one of his masterpieces changed the way he worked forever. It is historical fiction and I absolutely adored it! {the story itself was my muse} hehe. It had romance, drama, and plain old AWESOMENESS in it. I highly recommend you all read it like now.

The plot itself took place in Florence and Venice Italy. In the 16-17th century if I am correct. The opening was very unique in how it Introduced the characters. “It all started at a horse race….” *sighs in content* no. But it was still a very nice opening. The rising action was collective and calm in a way. Building its way up slowly. Little by little until it hit its climax. Which might I add was written FAN FRICKING TASTIC. I couldn’t put it down! That’s how good that part was guys. The falling action got even more action filled and dramatic. {let’s just say it went out with a traitor} so high pace and awesome to read. Then that Conclusion. Oh my god. LEONARDO HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME AND MY FEELS?! So sorry, it had to be said. The ending was absolutely breathtaking. I do like how the author ended it, including the reason behind it. But I do wish there was love and romance in it so my OTP could sail on. But no. She shut that ship down. *cries in corner* in general this story’s plot was wonderful and the story itself was magnificent and I can’t wait to read another one of her novels.

Now for my babies. The characters I mean. Oops. First off our Female Lead Ginevra de’ Benci, or should I said mountain tiger? {get it? No then read the book.} She was intelligent, beautiful, artistic, poetic, and gifted when it came to poetry. I did quite enjoy her bravery and boldness at times. Especially since in that time period women weren’t supposed to say what they thought. {you go Ginevra de’ Benci} then we had our male lead, the famous artist himself, known for the Mona Lisa, Leonardo di’ Vinci! Let me tell you, he was a sassy talkative one when he felt like it. He was creative intelligent in certain ways and passionate about his art. The way he was portrayed in this story was different from what I’ve ever heard. And I loved it to be honest. Just the way he was in general was very thoughtful. As if every step he took was a brushstroke on a canvas he was painting. Very well written indeed I’d say. As for the supporting characters there where many of them. Luigi, Ginevras husband, “husband”. Simonetta, a good friend of Ginevra. Giovanni, Ginevras older brother. Verrocchio, the old maestro. Bernardo, the man who’s interested in Ginevra. And finally Sancha, Ginevras hand maid, a lovely lady who is loyal to her mistress no matter what. All of these characters added to the story, and just made it all come together. Honestly, there where some of them I wished the story was about or they where involved more since there where that good. I loved them all! My babies.

Overall, this story was absolutely fantastic! I could NOT put it down. That’s how good it was. Plus, it’s historical fiction! I mean come on, how cool is historical fiction guys. It’s pretty cool. {I think it is at least} and I HIGHLY recommend you all go pick up this book and read it. Because if you like art, or history or both, I know you’ll like/love this book.

Congratulations L.M. Elliott on a fantastic historical fiction! I can’t wait to read more from you in the future.

One response to “Da Vinvi’s Tiger Review

  1. Oooh this sounds cool… I’ve been meaning to check it out ever since I saw all the lovely pictures of the OwlCrate! Gotta love historical fiction!

Leave a Reply

