Truthwitch Review

truthwitch

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Title: Truthwitch

Author: Susan Dennard

Song: Revolution by Diplo

Published: January 5, 2016             # of Pages: 416

Date Started: February 2, 2016      Date Ended: February 15, 2016

Category: Fiction, Fantasy, Witches

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Description:

“On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery,” a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.”

Review:

I’m so sorry I took so long to finish this book! I was being lazy and watching Netflix tbh. Evil Netflix drew me in to watch and marathon an entire series. The struggle is real! Curse you Netflix! {But I still love you}

The plot of this story was absolutely wonderful! The whole idea of different witches and their families was so unique and it somewhat reminded me of the last air bender. {oh come on I can’t be the only one who saw the similarities, can I?} The introduction was wonderful and quite enjoying. While the rising action was intense and had me thinking, “HOLY SHIT.” The entire time. The climax was earth shattering {no pun intended} and had me dreaming out the entire scene again, and again. The falling action was heroic and intense and just plain insane and I couldn’t believe what was happening. Then the Conclusion hit me right in the feels. I cried because of it and flipped my shit from my feels. Ughhhhh Merik and Safiya why do you do this to me?!!!! And OH THE PLOT TWISTS!!!! How you played with my feels. I just couldn’t handle it. They where THAT good. The entire story line was magnificent and I can’t wait until the next book comes out! Because I know for a fact I’ll love that one to!

The characters where wow and just eye opening to read about honestly in my opinion. Our Female lead Safiya is a Truthwitch. Which is very rare in a way and people would kill for her. She is hard headed and on a mission. I love the way she holds herself and just how she acts in general. Then we have her Best friend and Threadsister Iseult. She is the more intelligent one in a way, since she thinks things out more before acting where Safiya just does. She’s always thinking things out before acting which I love. We then have our Male lead Merik. A Air prince who hates the government and his family. {sound familiar?} who also owns a ship and is at a meeting because his father told him to go. He is sarcastic and strict. He will NOT put up with your shit. Safiya, learned that the hard way. He tries to be the way his father thinks he should be but honestly he just needs to be Merik. Be himself. Plus, he had a VERY dirty mind, one that he had to keep under control the ENTIRE book. {Which I loved! *wink wink nudge nudge*} Alas now we have the villain. Aeduan, also known as a demon. Since he is a Bloodwitch. Almost like a bloodhound in a way since he can smell people’s blood. {which is pretty badass tbh} the way he was portrayed in this story I really liked and I can’t wait to see more of him in future books. Finally, we have all our supporting characters, Evrane who is Meriks aunt, Kullen, Meriks threadbrother, and finally Ryber who was Kullens love. All of these characters where written beautifully and I can’t wait until the next book comes out so I can cry and love them some more. And read more of Merik trying to hold onto his boyish urges…. *laughs in a corner holding book close* DON’T JUDGE ME!

Overall, I highly enjoyed this story. From the plot all the way down to the characteristics in the characters. {*cough cough Merik cough cough*} The detail was out of this world and I need the next book in my hands ASAP. I definitely recommend all of you go buy this book and read. Then we may fangirl and fanboy over all of the funny things and feels filled things in the book.

Congratulations Susan Dennard on a brilliant novel! Cant wait to read more from you in the future.

 

2 responses to “Truthwitch Review

Leave a Reply

