Cruel Crown Review

cruel crown

Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Cruel Crown

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Song: Moon Dance from August Rush Soundtrack

Published: January 5, 2016                # of Pages: 208

Date Started: January 17, 2016         Date Ended: January 26, 2016

Category: Fiction, Fantasy

Rating: ♥♥♥

Description:

Two women on either side of the Silver-Red divide tell the stories no one else knows.

Discover the truth of Norta’s bloody past in these two revealing prequels to #1 New York Times bestseller Red Queen.

Also includes an exclusive excerpt of the hotly anticipated second book in the Red Queen series! Glass Sword transports readers to the world of Silver tyranny, a Red dawn rising, and one girl’s resolve to break down the system that will hold her back no longer.

Queen Song Queen Coriane, first wife of King Tiberias, keeps a secret diary—how else can she ensure that no one at the palace will use her thoughts against her? Coriane recounts her heady courtship with the crown prince, the birth of a new prince, Cal, and the potentially deadly challenges that lay ahead for her in royal life.

Steel Scars Diana Farley was raised to be strong, but being tasked with planting the seeds of rebellion in Norta is a tougher job than expected. As she travels the land recruiting black market traders, smugglers, and extremists for her first attempt at an attack on the capital, she stumbles upon a connection that may prove to be the key to the entire operation—Mare Barrow.”

Review:

Honestly the only reason why this book is rated a 3 is because Queen Song was the only thing I liked about it. Besides the two chapters of Glass Sword of course. I highly enjoyed those. But I found Steel Scars unnecessary in the novel.

The plot of Queen Song was very unique and I loved it so much. From the beginning to the climax all the way to the conclusion. It was all so good! And that plot twist ending?! Ugh it was the death of me. {no pun intended}

The characters where brilliantly written, I especially liked how we got to see both the old queen and new queens’ sides. Including the cheat. The development was so good. Especially since we got to see the mental state of a certain character {or characters} crumble. From the inside out.

I highly enjoyed this short novella. Not only for its creativity, but also because it made me want to read more about the old queen. Fingers crossed the lovely Victoria Aveyard writes more about her in the future.

I am not going to even bother with Steel Scars since it disappointed me so much. I found it boring and not needed in this book at all.

Overall, it was an okay book I guess. Since only the one book in it was the thing I liked. Along with the sneak peak chapters. But I am still looking forward to Glass Sword. Especially now that I have a copy of it in my hands! AND ITS SIGNED! I REPEAT IT IS A SIGNED FIRST EDITION.

Congrats Victoria Aveyard on the good novella Queen Song. I am looking forward to reading more about our beloved queen soon.

 

Leave a Reply

