The Merciless Review

The Merciless by Danielle  Vega

The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Title: The Merciless

Author: Danielle Vega

Song: Dark Music by: Adrian Von Ziegler

Published: June 12th, 2014                  # of Pages: 279

Date Started: June 30th, 2015             Date Ended: July 5th, 2015

Category: Fiction, Horror

Rating: ♥♥♥♥ {3.5} stars

Description:

“Forgive us, Father, for we have sinned

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.

Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.

Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls . . . unless she wants to be next. . . .

In this chilling debut, Danielle Vega delivers blood-curdling suspense and terror on every page. By the shockingly twisted end, readers will be faced with the most haunting question of all: Is there evil in all of us?”

Review:

Going into this book, I knew it was going to be somewhat spooky. And let’s be honest here, this was a cover buy. I remember seeing this cover on an IG post, and I knew I had to buy it. So I did. But what I didn’t expect was for it to be so- gruesome and descriptive. {I had forgotten about the whole “For Mature Audiences only.” at the beginning}.

I rated it 3.5 stars because I liked this book somewhat but defiantly DIDN’T love it. It was good, and the thing that I really liked about this book was how the author really got you into the mindset of something bad is going to happen. Basically her writing was FLAWLESS. When it said it was blood-curdling and terror on every page, they weren’t kidding! The beginning was okay, but as soon as you got closer to the middle, “Bam!” EXTREAM DETAIL and gruesome images come your way.

The character development was good, could have been better but still enjoyable. I liked how at the end she finally told us Sofia’s story. But the plot twist at the end, boy let me tell you. Even though I was freaking out because I dislike Horror, this plot twist was like WTF wow.

I would ONLY RECOMMEND this book to a lover of Horror Books/Movies like Stephan King. But never to a person who, does not like that genre. In my case, I dislike horror with a passion. But I was told great things about this book so I read it.

Now overall after all my cringes and shutting the book, I finally got through this book. I LITERALLY had to shut it 5 times because it got so gruesome, descriptive and gory.

*cough cough* page 122 *cough cough*

This book definitely had me in the mind set of “OH MY GOD SOMEONES GONNA GET ME AND MURDER ME IN MY HOUSE” and “PLEASE DON’T HURT ME PLEASE DON’T KILL ME.”

*hides under the covers*

Good job Danielle Vega. For definitely traumatizing me for life.

{In a good scary way}

Leave a Reply

